Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort Entertainment



Major Changes In Calaveras County

Major Changes In Calaveras County

A major changing of the guard took place in Calaveras County yesterday, as the CAO and 4 Board of Supervisors members attended their last meeting.  The board bid farewell Tuesday to outgoing CAO Shirley Ryan who is retiring after 26 years with the county.  She is being replaced by interim CAO Manuel Lopez.  The four outgoing Supervisors then received special proclamations during their final regularly scheduled meeting.  Supervisors Cliff Edson and Steve Kearney were victims of the November election, while Supervisors Debbie Ponte and Chris Wright, chose not to seek re-election.  Ponte will be replaced by Dennis Mills and Wright by John Garamendi Jr.  The lone holdover from the board next year will be Michael Oliveira.  Both Edson and Kearney were absent from Tuesday’s meeting.


Written by Joey Guidi

Additional information