Disaster Declaration Frees Up Federal Money for Amador

President Trump issued a disaster declaration over the weekend freeing up federal monies for Amador County.  Citing large parts of the state were damaged by storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides earlier this year; the President issued the declaration on Saturday to help 17 counties that suffered damage from Feb. 24 to March 1.  Waves of heavy rain pounded California, trapping people in floodwaters, washing away roadways, triggering a mudslide that destroyed homes and forcing residents to flee communities scorched by wildfires.  The declaration means the Amador, Butte, Colusa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Monterey, Napa, Sonoma, Tehama, Trinity and Tuolumne are now eligible for federal funding to repair the damage. The exact figures of relief, per county, were not released.

Written by KVGC Staff

Additional information